I caught Upside decreasing rebates depending on how close you are to the restaurant or gas station.

I caught Upside decreasing rebates depending on how close you are to the restaurant or gas station.

The Upside app is a rebate app that pays you to eat out and fill up your gas tank, but I caught them changing the discount if you pull up and then claim it.

The Burger King on Belvidere Road, in Park City, Illinois advertises a 24% rebate on Upside, but if you drive there and open it up in the parking lot, it falls to 16%.

They got me like this yesterday. The Chinese buffet is 7% back if you’re at my house, but 6% if you drive there and claim it in their parking lot.

The BP gas stations give you 12 cents a gallon back if you claim it while you’re a mile away, but only 9 cents if you pull up to the pump and open the app.

So I put my Fake GPS app back on my phone, which I used to use to get around Grindr Premium before I was married, and if I forget to claim another rebate until I’m already there, I can fake my location, claim it, and then turn the Fake GPS off, and get more money.

LOL

There’s really no other way you can get those huge rebates on Upside if it’s going to do this. By the time you claim it, it says you have to pay with that card within 20 minutes to get the rebate.

So if you claim it before you leave the house, the 20 minute timer will probably be up before you can get to the gas station and tap your credit card.

So I’m going to try an experiment with my Fake GPS app.

I’m going to pull up to the gas pump at BP, and then set a fake location over by the lake or something.

When it tells me the rebate is 12 cents a gallon, I’m going to claim it, then I’ll immediately turn off the fake GPS and instantly teleport to the gas pump, check in, and tap my card.

And we’ll see if it really does give you the 12 cents a gallon instead of the 9 cents.

Probably their reasoning goes, if you’re already in the parking lot, you need less incentive to just go ahead and tap it and go inside.

But if you’re a quarter mile away, and may go to several other businesses, they offer you more.

They probably advertise to business owners that this saves them money because they don’t have to pay big bucks out to people who are unlikely to go anywhere else at that point.

1 thought on “I caught Upside decreasing rebates depending on how close you are to the restaurant or gas station.

  1. Pingback: Links 20/06/2022: Linux 5.19 RC3 and OpenBGPD 7.4 | Techrights

Comments are closed.