Jerry App for car insurance does it again. Fake prices.

When I got the Buick, I started shopping around for car insurance again.

I decided to ask “Jerry”, the app I blogged about previously, what it would cost to insure the Buick. Again, they recommended Mercury Insurance (which has a lot of customer complaints and is apparently infamous for hardballing and delaying claims, ranking 11 out of 12 in customer satisfaction according to J.D. Power’s 2021 comparison of insurance companies, so it won’t even be good insurance if you buy it and pay a fortune), which they said would be about $50 a month for the Buick, and then when I clicked through and Mercury actually gave me the quote, it was more like $100 a month.

That’s high. So high in fact, that I was able to buy a Geico policy and pay in full and I am insured with better coverage and lower deductibles than Mercury wanted to offer me, and it actually does cost about $55 a month, and that’s with accident forgiveness, rental car coverage, and $500 deductibles instead of $1,000.

I’m considering reporting this app to the state Attorney General’s office in Illinois for offering fake quotes in order to get customers over to a website where they will be ambushed with the real price.

There has to be some kind of Truth In Advertising law that doubling the real price of something you advertised is violating.

1 thought on “Jerry App for car insurance does it again. Fake prices.

  1. Pingback: Links 29/04/2022: Voyager 22.04 LTS and GCC 12.0.1 Status Report | Techrights

Comments are closed.