I’ve set GNOME Terminal to use the fish shell. We’ll see how this goes.

I don’t have anything against bash, but fish seems like it could be easier.

I’ve set GNOME Terminal to load fish instead of my user shell, bash. I figured this is the way I always use my shell anyway, and it runs the least risk of breaking anything while I figure out if I even like fish enough to continue using it.

So far I am liking fish. It’s going to take a while to become proficient with an entirely new shell, but I can already say that the command completion is welcome relief.

Even with bash-completion, which you have to add to Debian, Bash isn’t this good in that regard, as fish is out of the box.

Also, there’s a “Fish for Bash users” reference that I plan to look over tomorrow when I’m better rested. The fish article on Wikipedia is sure to be helpful.

Also TODO…. Figure out what this whole web browser-based setup thing is all about.

I noticed that there have been quite some improvements since Debian froze Fish (frozen fish?) for Debian 11 (at 3.1.2), so I installed it from the Debian 11 repository on OpenSUSE Build Service.

So far, in the last couple hours at least, I haven’t found anything I do in bash on a regular basis that doesn’t work well.

This was meant to be a longer post, but those unfortunate issues with NordVPN came up and I had to go spend time dealing with that instead of other things. I’ll probably come back and revisit this later on.

Anyway, off to bed….

1 thought on “I’ve set GNOME Terminal to use the fish shell. We’ll see how this goes.

  1. Pingback: Links 14/11/2021: On ‘KDE World Domination’ and DRM Backlash | Techrights

Comments are closed.