Microsoft Skype hangs out fake error message for Firefox users.

Skype in Firefox 94 (latest version)

Microsoft claims Skype for the Web doesn’t work in Firefox, however setting your user agent to a current Edge or Chrome on Windows UA removes the limitation and makes voice and video chat work.

I previously reported Facebook doing something like this, but Mozilla left it unfixed for three years, and the only reason it got better was because Facebook backed out their fake error message, which suggested Chrome.

I’d report this issue to Mozilla, except I wouldn’t want to be “unhelpful spam”. So they can keep letting Microsoft sabotage their browser, I guess.

If you have to use Skype for some reason, you need to set a UA hack because Mozilla is sitting there with their thumbs up their asses while their browser falls apart, and I wouldn’t want to unnecessarily burden them with reading bug mail.

Mozilla works so hard prostrating itself to Microsoft, then gets fake compatibility errors as their reward. It’s in the Windows store! Doesn’t work on Microsoft sites, but hey!

Edit: I changed my mind and posted a bug report for the lulz. Now it’s totally on them what they choose to do about this. I also backed up the bug report in the Internet Archive in case they try to make it go away.